top of page

What The Fuck Happened To Me In 2022?!


What the fuck happened to me in 2022? Even I don't know the answer to that and I lived it. In the words of Kylie Jenner, 2022 was all about "realising stuff" but not in a fun, cute, 25-year-old billionaire way. For me, I "realised stuff" in a crazy, manic, and some may say alcoholic way, that made me grateful for everything - in a way I never have been before.


People say however you start the year is how you'll spend it and considering I kicked off 2022 in a drunk screaming match with my best friend, it's pretty safe to say last year was fucked. After the New Year's Eve blowup, I began the year fighting COVID after calling in my ex-boyfriend for backup. If there's one thing I've learned in the last year, it's that I cling to people whenever I feel needy, insecure or hungover and calling my ex over after the fight with my friend is the perfect example of that. Am I proud of that? No. Am I honest about it? Abso-fucking-loutely.


Reading this I don't want you to think my whole year was a drag. I worked my ass off at my dull retail job, I partied harder than Lindsay Lohan on a Tuesday in 2009 and I took amazing Instagram photos. I'm just kidding. Well, not really because those photos are fire, but I did try to "find myself" in 2022. I learned that green is my colour because it matches my eyes. I learned you don't have to be friends with someone just because you've known them for an extended amount of time. And thanks to Kim Kardashian, I learned that I need to get off my fucking ass and make something happen for myself because no one is going to do it for me.


2022 was a weird ride and probably the most transformative twelve months I've had in recent years. Melbourne, Australia (where I live, duh) had the longest lockdown in the entire fucking world, I'm not kidding - google it. So, it felt good to actually be able to leave the house for the first time in almost two years. The people I'm close with completely shifted and no relationships in my life feel forced anymore. People I was friends with since high school are no longer part of my inner circle and I've had to build new relationships on my own. If you told me one of my closest friendships would be with someone I met through my ex I would've been more confused than Jax Taylor doing basic math, but here we are.


For anyone who remembers the Halloween 2019 story, it'll be no surprise that my brother and I were the white trash equivalent of William and Harry. Although my brother's never pushed me into a dog bowl, he has punched me in the head after I threw a drink on him but that's neither here nor there. In the last year we managed to rebuild our relationship and him dating a hilarious Irish chick (who was my friend first) definitely helped. All the relationships in my life feel easy and stress free which isn't something I could say a few years ago. In the romance department, I'm currently single and really can't be bothered to mingle at this point either. I'm focusing on myself, my goals and my bank account but if someone wants to take me out for a free dinner I wouldn't be opposed.


In the fun department for 2022, I threw not one but two birthday parties like a true Libra. In February I threw a belated 21st for myself with the theme "Iconic Queens" where you had to dress up as, well, an iconic queen, so naturally I went as Britney in the "Oops I Did It Again" red catsuit. Ramona Singer doesn't have anything on me. The second party was during October where my twin sister and I (yes, I have a twin) threw a joint birthday in our huge new back yard where everyone in attendance got sloshed, so I'd say it was a success.


To sum up everything else I got up to: I moved houses earlier in the year which was just as stressful as watching Heather Gay talk about her black eye. I took a trip to Sydney for Mardi Gras that made me realise Sydney potentially has the worst night life in the entire world. Seriously, if you're an American planning a trip to Australia, Melbourne is the place to go and if you book a flight to Sydney it actually means you hate yourself. I also visited the Grampians with friends which was a lot of fresh air and mountain hikes, which is always a vibe.


Since 2017 Good Tea has been my baby. I grew an audience by writing bitchy articles and funny recaps which turned into a full-time job of its own. Balancing the website with my real-life commitments like work and university became too hard to juggle and eventually Good Tea fell by the wayside. In the last year, I've used my spare time to hang out with friends, drink like a fish and do all the inconsequential things twenty-two year old's do. Taking a break from writing only made it clearer that if I want to be successful in life all roads lead back to running Good Tea again. I've already established a healthy audience who praise me for my unfiltered opinions and weird antics, so I'd be a fucking idiot to let that go.


Another main reason that stopped me from writing was that in the years since I'd created Good Tea, Bravo fan accounts blew up all over social media. On the one hand, it's fun and exciting to have an entire community of obsessed Bravoholics to connect with but on the other, it made everything seem oversaturated and basic. The Twitter stans take everything way too seriously and have single-handedly ruined so many of the shows we loved with their bullshit woke agenda. It's annoying and turned me off completely.


The Housewives have been my bread and butter since I started this website but if we're being honest, the franchise is dying and we all need to broaden our pop culture horizons. Of course, I'll continue to cover all things Bravo in the future but I also want to branch out and talk about the Harry and Meghan bullshit, Pete Davidson's sex life or whatever the fuck is going on with Britney Spears?!


For a long time, I tried to separate myself from the account and was reluctant to share any personal information about my life. My goal was to focus on which Housewife was getting divorced that week or why a certain male Bravolebrity was a gaslighting asshole, but questions about my life always crept in, so it only makes sense to merge the two going forward. My main focus will still be commenting on the lives of messy celebrities and reality stars but with little scoops about my own fucked up life here and there. If I'm criticising everyone else, it only makes sense to roast myself too.


This year, I want to write reality show recaps and shady commentary pieces about whatever's happening in pop culture that week. I want to give you guys polls and Q&As on Instagram and maybe even start a podcast down the track. I want to continue to grow my audience and give everyone a reason to laugh, even if it's just for one second in the middle of a shitty day. After a year off attempting to live my best life, I'm more than ready to shower you guys with content and get the ball rolling because if there's one thing I know how to do it's spill some motherfucking Good Tea.


Stay tuned for more!

bottom of page