top of page

Captain Sandy Says Captain Lee's "Not Acting His Age" Amid Feud


PHOTO: Bravo


These two are acting like Housewives, not Captains!


I haven't been watching the current season of Below Deck but somehow I still know all the drama. Captain Sandy Yawn stepped in to replace Captain Lee Rosbach for part of the season after he had to return to the mainland for medical reasons, leaving her in charge of the yacht.


Sandy made the decision to fire Camille Lamb, a deckhand turned stew, during the charter season and Lee was not happy about it.


While live tweeting, Lee stated that although he agreed with the firing of Camille he believes Sandy should've called him first to give him a heads up saying she "lacked in procedure and respect" among other things.





Following his Twitter tirade, Sandy appeared on comedy queen Amy Phillip's SiriusXM radio show, Reality Checked, where she was asked about Lee's tweets and stood by her decision to inform him after the fact. The Mediterranean captain said:


“He’s in the hospital. Who’s gonna call and say, ‘Can I fire Camille?’ Never in a million years would I do that. But what I did was give him a courtesy call saying, ‘By the way, I did fire her. You almost had a mutiny on your boat because of her.' And plus, who’s gonna call someone while they’re having surgery and then recovering from surgery? It’s just, I don’t know what happened, but I tried to call him a few times and he hasn’t picked the phone up … I just wanted to go, ‘Why? Why?'”


So not only is Lee mad Sandy didn't give him a heads up but he's also not returning her phone calls. This man is 73 years old so Sandy was right when she said "he’s definitely not acting his age" because this is middle school behaviour - or in the Bravo universe, Housewives behaviour.



At 73 you can't bash people on social media and not pick up the phone when they call to talk things out. Sandy commented on his behaviour by saying:


“When they go low, we go high … I told Lee I was, like ‘Hurt people hurt people,’ right? So, I don’t know. I haven’t ever hurt ’em, but I think when you spew that kind of stuff, it’s like, it’s inward and I feel bad for the guy.”


In case you're wondering if Lee returns later this season, Sandy confirmed he came back to the boat after she had to fly home to be with her girlfriend who was having her own surgery, she explained:


“I called him [later in the season] and said, ‘Come back to your boat.’ Cuz I had a girlfriend that was going to have surgery. Like, I didn’t step on there to take over a show. I don’t want two shows. I like the Med. Are you kidding me? I like the Mediterranean.”


I'm 100% #TeamSandy in this situation. Lee was in hospital having surgery, why the fuck would he care who was hired or fired on his boat?



As soon as Sandy stepped onto the boat she became in charge, so she didn't need his approval to fire anyone. If I was in hospital the last thing on my mind would be whether or not some brat should be fired from a silly reality show. Lee's obviously in his feelings and Sandy didn't do anything wrong.


Thoughts? Sound off in the comments!

bottom of page